depraved.

The good news of the Gospel says “it is finished in Christ.” Stop making excuses for sin.

Nobody is too far gone for Christ. Stop making excuses for sin.

Everyone has sinned against God, great or small. Stop  making excuses for sin.

We are all deserving of hell. Stop making excuses for sin.

We cannot escape sin (in this life). So stop making excuses for sin.

We channel our blame of God through the things He’s given us. Stop making excuses for sin.

I’m trying. Stop making excuses for sin.

I know He will forgive me. Stop making excuses for sin.

I am a lost cause. Stop making excuses for sin.

I keep struggling. Stop making excuses for sin.

My life was changed forever when God revealed to me who I truly was. My life was changed forever when He showed me who He really is. I am wicked and sinful and dead in my trespasses. Nothing I do or could ever do would make me right in His eyes. I labor with good deeds and when I fail I am despondent. I always fail. What is the point of all this? Why try to be good enough when I know I am not. My flesh and my heart, they always fail. Dead without Him, He made me alive. Because of Ephesians 2:1, He showed me I need the Son.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” -Ephesians 2:4-10

It is not my own doing, it is the gift of God. How beautiful that is, how humbling that is. Romans 3:10, no one is good, not one. So when God showed me my sinful nature, my depravity, I became aware. I became aware that I was forever lost and separated and dead….UNLESS. Unless the gift of God which granted faith to believe, by His grace would make me alive in Christ. I know that I cannot boast, because it is nothing I did to save a wretch like me. How awesome it was to know that my standing before God was with Christ? Perfect, holy, beautiful Savior is Thee. The only thing I have to boast in, is the cross. The foolishness of man is that we think we had anything to do with our salvation, other than the sin that made it necessary. The foolishness of man is that we make excuses for our sin when in reality that is WHY we need a Savior. The foolishness of man shows us that we have a loving God who so graciously gave His Son for our atonement, yet we still go on choosing things other than Him. The foolishness of man let’s us keep on making excuses for our sin.

But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; 1 Corinthians 1:27

Jesus was born of a virgin, became man while still being fully God, and then He was killed although He was perfect. What sense does that make? That is God using the foolish things to shame the wise which we know that the message of the cross is foolish to the perishing. In regards to sin, this story of Jesus shows us that it is the power of the Gospel that calls us and saves us. It is nothing we do. This is good news!

Christians, God still loves us even though we struggle. I am not saying that following God will automatically make you a better person. That is not what it is about. YOU WILL BE MADE NEW, NOT BETTER. A new creation in Christ. You will still fall, you will still fail. After all, we are all sinners. That is why we need Christ. The difference being that you will have a heart transformed by the Holy Spirit which means that the spirit of God is in you. You’re deadness made alive in Christ. As you grow and as you walk with God, the road will be long; it will be hard. There will be pain and there will be sorrow. We know that because of Jesus, nothing we suffer in this world will go unrewarded. He paid the ultimate price for our sin and His kindness brings me to repentance. Although we cannot fully escape sin in this life, we must do everything we can to kill it. We can only kill sin if we hate it. We must be in the Word and rely on the Spirit to transform our desires. “If you aren’t killing sin, it will be killing you.” It is because of Him we are made holy and because of Him we must go to war with sin. Stop making excuses. Only a regenerate heart will hate sin and because of God overcome it. It  makes my heart soar to know that the acclimation of the Lordship of Christ is the work of the Spirit and not my own. It is finished in Christ, and not because of me. It wasn’t me that brought this about, it was the Spirit that caused it. It is the Spirit who will continue to cause this desire to live for Christ, and I must be a witness to this Light.

“The new testament gospel is this: Christ died for sinners, He purchased a bride for Himself, totally securing their conversion. It is finished in Christ Jesus. Do you want this?” -John Piper

 

Leave a Reply

